A Sad Day


I had planned on posting about my duo of OSU Buckeye hats today, but I am just not in the mood. We found out yesterday that my husband is going to lose his job….Monday. They sold his company and literally gave him, what, five days of notice?

The scariest part of having to live on just my salary is that our insurance was through his company, so come Tuesday yours truly will not be insured. That means no hand care, no medication coverage or either the panic monster orΒ my stupid hand. I feel so horrible for my husband who has given this company 7 really faithful years.

So, to knit or not to knit? My panic monster is screaming that I should probably just sit in a padded room to avoid injury. Is this the American dream? Work your every loving ass off and have everything fall apart around you?

Okay, so I am feeling pretty bad for us right now. I just need to put my head down and push through. But man oh man, I am just terrified.

43 thoughts on “A Sad Day

  1. Di

    I’m really sorry for you, that’s horrible! I hope everything is resolved quickly, after all run out of treatment and medicine is not the solution. I’m here if you need to talk 😦

    Reply
  2. cross(stitch)yourheart

    I’m so sorry for you and your husband. I hope things resolve quickly for you and you’re able to find solutions to all these problems.

    Don’t give up on what you love though. If you sit in that padded room I promise you all you’ll think about are your problems (I’ve been there…in fact I still am there) and things will get much worse. Try to enjoy life a little bit every day, find things to be happy about, and you’ll make it through one day at a time.

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Thank you, I a trying to do just that. I don’t want my husband to know how scared I am, the weights the world just fell on his shoulders. I just wish I knew where to start, what to do, and if I can live without meds if insurance is a no go.

      Reply
  3. lollyknits

    Sweetie, I am so sorry. I recently found out I’ll be losing my job too, but with plenty of advance notice so it’s a lot less scary. Be that as it may, I can understand, just a little, how you might be feeling right now. Maybe you should learn how to spin! It’s even more soothing than knitting.

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      I would love too, but I think buying anything else (eg. yarn,needles, fibers) is on hiatus till we know what’s going to happen next….gesh that’s depressing 😦

      Reply
      1. lollyknits

        I know this is probably rather odd, but I’ve got an extra spindle and more fluff than I know what to do with, so if you’ve got a mailing address that you don’t mind giving out to a complete stranger, you can email me at LollyKnitsDesigns(at)gmail(dot)com, and I can send you off something to try out πŸ™‚ As someone who struggles with anxiety as well, I can tell you from personal experience that nothing helps quite like spinning, not even knitting!

        Reply
          1. lollyknits

            One thing I’ve learned since I started reading knitting blogs, is that we knitters look out for each other! and we CERTAINLY don’t lose an opportunity to get someone addicted to spinning πŸ˜›

            Reply
  4. Geekette Palette

    Ho dear, I’m so sorry ! That’s so horrible. Here in France we often feels like the USA are a wonderful country because you can open a business and make money easily, on the paper, while here it’s just a nightmare to try to run a business. But we have more social protection, and it really makes me realize not every one is that lucky. The grass is always greener… but in the end, it’s just so hard to for your husband, working years to get fired like that ! You might want to punch your pillow to beat the panic monster… I’ve had moments without social security and couldn’t afford the medication, so I understand how you feel. But deep inside you’re strong and life has to go on. It has helped me a lot to write down everything, to find where I could cut the budget (like making my own cosmetics to spend less money on that), what makes me feels better (baking pizza is always a must)… All my thoughts are with you and your family, really hope I could do something to help

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Just saying those things is a huge help. It’s odd, this community of knitters and bloggers have been such a source of strength it’s incredible. I am a lucky girl and I know there are far worse thing, we’ll get by. We love and support each other, it’s just so scary facing this change, the unknown.

      Thank you so much for your kind words, it means the world to me!

      Reply
  5. knittingwithheart

    Ohhh, so sad for you πŸ˜₯ Life seems bleak right now, but a fresh, new experience awaits you and your husband… You have each other and that’s the best part πŸ™‚ This too shall pass! And when it does, you’ll smile and forget all about hiding in the padded room ❀ Einstein said, β€œIn the middle of every difficulty lies opportunity.”

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Thank you for your kind words, they mean a lot. Luckily I haves great marriage and I know we can face anything together. I’m a lucky girl, I just keep telling myself that today!

      Reply
  6. Hope Rays

    I’m sorry to hear that. It is very frightening, but once the shock and fear subside, you & your hubby will be able to look at it as new opportunities. I am positive that things will work out for you guys! Sending hugs, hope & support!

    Reply
  7. ellen

    I’m so sorry about the job! I get anxiety for non issues, so I can only imagine your concerns. Please, please try to focus on things that are good and strong, like you two together, right? There is light at the end of the tunnel, even if you aren’t sure you can see it yet. I’m with Hope Rays and sending hugs, hope & support. Cheering you on from afar!

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Thank you, the hubby and I are very strong. I know we can do this together, it is just so rattling! You go to bed and everything is fine nd the next day everything is turned on its head.

      Reply
  8. bgbowers

    I am so sorry to hear your news. To fire someone is one thing, but to give them such short notice is unthinkable. They say that everything happens for a reason, but when you’re in the mist it’s all but impossible to understand what that reason could possibly be. It’s perfectly natural for you to feel terrified and even defeated, but you have to force yourself to march through this mist of uncertainty and gain back control. In times like these you have to do 2 things: 1) Keep the faith; 2) Don’t give up.
    When I was in London in 2002, all of my money was stolen from the place where I was living at the time. I had arrived in London less than a week before and had just cashed in my traveller’s cheques. So, there I was, in London, with no money (and I mean no money), no place to stay, no food, no job. I was screwed. I didn’t even have enough money to pay for a night in the backpacker’s. I really was terrified, but I had no choice other than finding a way against all odds. I got a free traveller’s magazine and found an ad for a Manager of a B&B, with free food and accommodation. I phoned, went for the interview and got the job. The job was only starting 2 weeks later, but I negotiated with the owner to start that same day and use the 2 weeks as training.
    I have had several close scrapes in life, feeling just like you are feeling right now – terrified!

    On a practical level, I agree with Geekette (previous comment) – the first thing you should do is work out a budget and try to cut out any unnecessary/luxury items. Second, your husband will need to find a new job. I would like to extend an offer of help to you. I write LinkedIn Profile’s & Resumes for people, so if your husband needs my help, I am happy to help. I highly recommend using LinkedIn to find a job. If you want to know more, please email me at: bowersbg@gmail.com

    You are in my thoughts. You will get there! Stay focused, stay strong xox

    Reply
  9. knittingbassist

    I know that terrified sickening feeling well, my husband got made redundant with no notice at all. You will be fine if you stick together, even though it doesn’t feel like it right now. Sending love xx

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Thank you, the hubby and I are very strong and I know we can weather this! It’s just the anxiety of not knowing what’s next that has left me rattled!

      Reply
  10. Sara M

    Oh no! I am so, so sorry. I pray that bigger and better things are on the way for your husband and you. This is the start of a brand new adventure! Hang in there!

    Reply
  11. creativelycarolyn

    This is very sad news! I have lived with extreme financial uncertainty before and it can be like a crushing weight of worry. But I know that you and your husband will get through it, and I hope that you have people in your life who are supporting you and helping you out emotionally and practically. Not sure if you’re a spiritual person or not, so this might come across as a little odd, but you’ll be in my thoughts and prayers. xo

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      I am and the thoughts and prayers are humbly appreciated. I never expected a blogging community to be so supportive, it has been a blessing all of its own. Thank you so much.

      Reply
  12. lottieknits

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re having such a hard time at the moment. It’s difficult to find anything else that hasn’t already been said, but just try to remember that you will come out the other side of this eventually. I tend towards anxiety as well, but I find that I cope much better if I try to relax a little (usually by knitting) in those moments where you have done everything that you can and all the other things are out of your control. A few years ago my whole world fell apart due to illness and everything I had worked for was gone. I had to start again, but things are better now, and I think I am happier than I would have been if my life had not changed direction completely. Hang on in there. xxx

    Reply
    1. allnightknits Post author

      Thank you so much for sharing. We are regrouping and trying to look at this as a new opportunity. I married Prince Charming, but my parents are…hard. They’ve been all over this situation as a burden on their minds, that’s when it is hard to keep perspective. My parents add so much to my anxiety, I just need to stay in the present with my hubby, together I think we can handle anything.

      Thank you so much for your kind words, it means the world to me.

      Reply
      1. lottieknits

        Families can be difficult to deal with, thankfully I am lucky with mine, but it is a shame that your parents are adding to your anxiety. It would be easy for me to tell you to ask them to keep calm for your sake, but much harder for you to have to say that to them. I really hope it all works out for you, I will keep my fingers crossed for you both. xxx

        Reply
  13. monsteryarns

    It’s so difficult to know what to say – it’s totally life wrecking being made redundant. And to have no notice at all is an insult added to the injury. My heart goes out to both of you. Please have faith that the two of you will see this through because you will. You are both in our thoughts sending you strength and courage.

    Reply

Whatcha Thinking Friends and Neighbors?

